Roscraig, 21 Mortimer Avenue Mount Stuart, Tasmania


[Previous post: Peppermint Grove, W.A. Heritage ... Next post: Carclew, North Adelaide ]

external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image6.jpg

Historic Tasmanian home with department store fame

By Jennifer Duke - Friday, 20 December 2013 at http://www.propertyobserver.com.au
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image3.jpg
Noted as one of Hobart's 'true' mansions, 1905-built Roscraig was constructed for Mr Brownell, the owner of Brownell Brothers Ltd, the first department store in Hobart.
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image4.jpg
General Features:
  • Property Type:House
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Building Size: 330.00 m² (36 squares) approx
  • Land Size: 2246 m² (approx)
Other Features
  • Close to Schools,Close to Shops,
  • Close to Transport,
  • Fireplace(s),
  • Garden,
  • Formal Lounge
Floorplan

external image floorplan_thumb.png$$176.6234-18
Interactive Tour

external image virtualtour_thumb.png$$176.6234-18
Indoor Features:
  • Toilets: 2
  • Air Conditioning
Outdoor Features
  • Carport Spaces: 2
  • Open Car Spaces: 4
Floorplan
Virtual Tour

  • The property is on approvimately 2,246 square metres on the high side of the road, and has views over New Town, North Hobart, the Hobart Docks and the Eastern Shore.
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image9.jpg
  • The four-bedroom, two-bathroom home, 21 Mortimer Avenue, Mount Stuart, includes an operational original servants bell and six car spaces.
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image13.jpg
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image11.jpg
  • The pictures show beautiful stained glass windows and period-features, such as bay windows and fireplaces.
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image14.jpg
Iconic mansion
  • "Steeped in proud history this is one of Hobart's true mansions. 'Roscraig' was was built in 1905 for Mr Brownell who was the owner of Brownell Brothers Ltd, a large department store in Hobart. Designed and constructed as a mark of status everything about this residence symbolises prosperity.
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image8.jpg
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520main.jpg
  • "Imposingly nestled on approx. 2,246sqm of land on the high side of the road this property offers a fabulous panorama with a lovely vista over New Town, North Hobart and the Eastern Shore as well as a lovely snapshot of the Hobart docks area.
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image5.jpg
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image25.jpg
  • "Luxuriously proportioned with stunning, original features throughout there are numerous options for accommodation and living areas. With even the servants bells still operational this is an opportunity to secure a magnificent home in an exquisite residential enclave within a stone's throw from the wonderful North Hobart cappuccino strip."
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image12.jpg
external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image15.jpg

external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image20.jpg
  • It's currently listed asking for $1.2 million. RP Data records show that previously, it was bought in 2005 for $650,000, having been purchased for $205,500 in 1987.
    external image 21%2520Mortimer%2520Avenue%2520Mount%2520Stuart%2520Tas%2520image2.jpg
  • Brownwells originally began as David Moses' London Mart, which was a drapery and general store builty in 1836. It then became Brownwell Brothers in 1888, according to The Companion to Tasmanian History, before becoming a public company in 1902.
  • It was remodelled in the 1950s with American techniques, becoming Tasmania's largest department store, before being taken over by Myer in 1959.